Beyond blessed

My pastor at Seattle Quest just returned from a trip to South Africa and he mentioned how disheartening it was to see the drastic absence of men in the villages and cities he visited. The men were absent because of death from AIDS and war. It made me think how blessed I am to not be touched personally by those things. I don’t know anyone who has died in war though we hear about our fallen soldiers everyday as we fight horrible war in the middle east. I do have a family member with AIDS and she is a wonderful advocate for spreading knowledge about AIDS, but as an American she is not in danger of dying from AIDS due to a lack of medicine or the stigma of living with it. We are blessed indeed.

I think about all the things I want to achieve in life and all the possessions I strive to acquire and I feel stupid. I have done so much already and have so much more than most people in the world. There is no need for me to have more. I have a bachelors and masters degree as a black woman. Women aren’t educated in most of the world. I’m already ahead of the pack. I make more money than 98% of the world’s population. I own more gadgets and toys and clothes and music and stuff than I can ever use. And yet I have a desire to have more? It doesn’t make sense. God has blessed me so much and I don’t need two cars or a 5,000 square foot house or a yacht or a luxury vehicle to demonstrate how blessed I am. I can look at the fact that I have a job in an economy that lays off hundreds of thousands every month. I have a roof over my head while millions are being foreclosed on. I am beyond blessed and I don’t ever want to forget it. God has been so good to me despite my selfishness, selfcenteredness and judgmental behavior. I don’t deserve His goodness but I am so glad He sees past my stupidity. And I won’t allow myself to ever forget how beyond blessed I am!

Leave a Reply

