Time for a downgrade?

We all remember Beyonce’s song, “Upgrade You,” but maybe that mantra is a thing of the past. Amid a horrible economic downturn, we are being forced to meet our consumerism-is-good maker. I started scaling back my ambitions  a while ago. I realized that out of the billions of people on this earth, I’m more than blessed and have consumed more than my fair share of resources. I make more than 95 percent of the world’s population (probably more but I’m not really worried about accuracy here), I live in more square feet for one person, I drive my own car and I own more “toys” that add up to more than most people’s annual salary. I have gotten out of control and I’m ready to bring balance back to my life. But our economy is forcing a lot of people to bring balance.

Do you really need a bathroom for everyone in the house? Do the kids have to have their own room? Does everyone need their own TV and computer? Our consumerism has driven us away from sharing and ultimately caring for our fellowman. You don’t have to agree because trust me I don’t really care!!! But here is a video from an “expert” who warns that our standard of living has taken a permanent downgrade. I don’t think it’s a bad thing at all!

Leave a Reply

