You read what in the Bible?

090302_btb_goodbooktnI love reading the bible because it’s both my guideline for daily living and full of awesome stories about mystery, murder, sex, drunken stupors, natural disasters, poverty, riches, death and so much more. All of the films in hollyweird couldn’t touch the depth of what’s contained in the bible. Slate writer David Poltz knows this all to well and has completed a book called you read what in the bible that sounds like a great read!

While reading the Bible, I often felt as if I had finally lifted a veil from my eyes. I learned that I hadn’t known the true nature of God’s conflict with Job, which is the ur-text of all subsequent discussions of obedience and faith. I realized I was ignorant of the story of Ruth. I was unaware of the radical theology of Ecclesiastes, the source of so many of our ideas about the good life. I didn’t know who Jezebel was, or why we loathe her, or why she is the painted lady, or even that she was married to Ahab.

Not to sound like a theocratic crank, but I’m actually shocked that students aren’t compelled to read huge chunks of the Bible in high school and college, the way they must read Shakespeare or the Constitution or Mark Twain.

Check out the author’s video here!

Leave a Reply

